Final Result
2 1
17th February 2015
Annan vs Queen of the South
Development League

Match Details

Annan vs Queen of the South


Annan Athletic - 2
Queen of the South FC - 1


Craig Murray
Michael MacAnespie
Daniel Wadge
Andrew Mitchell
Steven Logan
Callum Cook
Josh Todd
Jordan Brown
Stuart McColm
Rabin Omar

Unused Subs




Match Report

Annan lifted the points in this Development League West match courtesy off a late 87th minute goal scored by substitute Connor Liddell.
Conditions were anything but ideal with a strong cold wind making it difficult for both teams. Annan playing with the wind in their favour went ahead in the 18th minute when a scramble in the 6 yard box saw Steven Logan prod the ball over the line. Queens had opportunities to square the game when Aiden Smith shot straight into keeper Craig Murray’s arms. Minutes before half time the same player was set up by Dean Smith but the shot was slammed over the bar from 15 yards.
Owen Moxon squared the game in the 55th minute with a fine finish. It was a good goal in the making with Dean Smith’s penetrating run down the left opening up the Annan defence and setting up Moxon who drilled the ball into the corner of the net.
Queens playing with the wind took the game to Annan who looked comfortable in defence . The goal that won the match for Annan came via a corner kick when on loan Celtic lad Jack Breslin’s header was well saved by Jack Lieghfield but the ball fell invitingly for Connor Liddell who pounced to stab the ball over the line.
Annan’s next match in the Development League is next Tuesday when they are scheduled to play Airdrieonians at Galabank on the 24th February but there is a possibility that this match will be swapped to Monday up at Airdrie, refer to the Annan website for final details.
Annan Athletic – C Murray, J Brown, M McAnespie, D Wadge, J Breslin, C Cook, A Mitchell ( D Wood 75 min), S Logan, R Omar, J Todd, S McColm (D Irving 75 min). Subs not used S Norman, B Cook, B Wagner, S Henderson
Queen of the South – J Leighfield, J Brannan, P Slattery, J Pickard, J Dickinson, S Hooper, D Brotherston, O Moxon, R Ferguson, A Smith , D Smith, Substitutes F Morton, S Kavider-Aissa, A Berry, D Neil, J Ashton, R Murray, D Hill.

Back to Fixtures & Results
This site uses cookies.
ConfigureHide Options
Read our privacy policy

This site uses cookies for marketing, personalisation, and analysis purposes. You can opt out of this at any time or view our full privacy policy for more information.