Final Result
5 1
2nd August 2016
Celtic U20 v Annan Athletic
Cappielow Park

Match Details

Celtic U20 v Annan Athletic


Annan Athletic - 1
Celtic U20 - 5



Unused Subs




Match Report

Annan travelled to Cappielow Park on Tuesday evening to face the Celtic Under 20 team in the newly formatted Challenge Cup sponsored BY Irn Bru. After their recent performances Annan were expected to run the Celtic Under 20’s close but despite taking the lead in the opening minute they were torn apart by a young Celtic team who ran out comfortable winners.

Annan opened the scoring in the opening minute when following a corner wide on the left the ball fell to Rabin Omar on the edge of the box and his low shot found the corner of the net off the base of the post.

Celtic looked comfortable down both flanks where Nesbitt and Miller tormented the Annan defence all evening and it was Nesbitt who done the damage to score the equaliser in the 20th minute with a low shot from close range. Celtic went ahead in the 28th minute when full back Ralston set up Regan Henry who finished with a low shot from 6 yards into the centre of the net. Annan’s first half misery was completed in the 40th minute when Calvin Millers cross form the left was headed into the net by Regan Henry.

The second half was more of a contest but it was Celtic who went 4-1 ahead in the 72nd minute, Aidan Nesbitt scored with a low shot after Calvin Miller set him up. Annan’s misery was completed in the 83rd minute when substitute Paul Joseph Crossan was at hand to shoot home from close range.

Celtic  – Ross Doohan, Anthony Ralston, Aiden Mcilduff, Jamie McCart, Kristoffer Ajer, Sam Wardrop, Aiden Nesbitt, Joseph Thomson (Mark Hill 85 min), Jack Aitchison (Paul Joseph Crossan 76 min), Regan Henry (Theodore Archibald 80 min), Calvin Miller. Substitutes Unused – Daniel Higgins, Michael Johnston, Innes Murray.

Annan Athletic – Alex Mitchell, Steven Black, Jean Guy Lucas, Raffi Krissian , Peter Watson, Steven Swinglehurst (Scott Norman 65 min), Rabin Omar,  Ryan Finnie,  David McKenna (Tony Riberio ht), Max Wright, Aaron Bradbury (Liam Park 60 min) . Substitutes not used Blair Currie, Adam Asghar, Premyslaw Dachnowicz, Stuart Sharkey

Referee David Dickinson.

Crowd 235                         Crowd 134

Back to Fixtures & Results
This site uses cookies.
ConfigureHide Options
Read our privacy policy

This site uses cookies for marketing, personalisation, and analysis purposes. You can opt out of this at any time or view our full privacy policy for more information.