Final Result
2 0
18th May 2019
Clyde v Annan Athletic
Broadwood Stadium
SPFL League One Play-Offs

Match Details

Clyde v Annan Athletic


Annan Athletic - 0
Clyde FC - 2


Alex Mitchell
Scott Hooper
Steven Swinglehurst
Ayrton Sonkur
Owen Moxon
David Wilson
Aidan Smith
Christian Nade
Lewis Strapp (James Creaney, 67)
Tony Wallace (Kyle Bradley, 81)
Chris Johnston (Tommy Muir, 90)

Unused Subs

Aidan McAdams
Peter Watson
Ryan Sinnamon
Ross Ferguson


yellow card for Private: Christian Nade at 87 minutes
yellow card for Steven Swinglehurst at 86 minutes

Match Report

Clyde will play in Ladbrokes League 1 next season, after a controversial late penalty from Ally Love proved to be the winning goal in the Play-Off Final at Broadwood on Saturday.

Both managers made changes to their starting line ups with Peter Murphy installing fit again Scott Hooper at right back in place of Kyle Bradley, Clyde  manager Danny Lennon made three changes to the side that lost the first leg at Galabank on Tuesday, with Barry Cuddihy, Mark Lamont and Scott Banks coming in to replace Kieran Duffie, Kevin Nicoll and Ally Love.

Annan were first to show after 4 minutes when Owen Moxon’s half volley effort from the edge of the box went narrowly past the post. Clyde were finding it difficult to break down Annan but in the 21st minute following a corner it took a brilliant save from Alex Mitchell to deny Scott Banks whos well struck effort from the edge of the box looked to be heading for the net.

Swinglehurst was almost punished for a rare mistake in the 31st minute when he presented an opportunity for David Goodwillie but Mitchell retrieved the situation to deny the striker.

Annan started the second half on the attack and it took an important save from Blair Currie to edge Swinglehursts effort on to the cross bar and Nade following up had his effort once again saved by the Clyde keeper.

Scott Banks was a constant threat to Annan’s defence and in the 53rd minute he unleashed a curling shot which went narrowly wide, hitting the side netting. Alex Mitchell then denied Ray Grant in the 57th minute when he tipped over the midfielder’s dipping volley from the edge of the box.

The Bully Wee then got the breakthrough on the hour mark. The ball was not cleared and eventually it fell to the feet of Martin McNiff who slotted into the net from 4 yards.

Scott Banks then came close again after 61 minutes when his shot from the edge of the box sailed over the bar. Clyde suffered a blow when they lost influential striker David Goodwillie to an ankle injury in the 68th minute and at the same time Annan lost Lewis Strapp with a shoulder injury. James Creaney and Ally love replaced the injured players.

Clyde pressed for the opening, Mark Lamont blasted over the bar in the 75th minute and this was followed minutes later with a Bank’s effort from the edge of the box which went narrowly past the post.

With four minutes left on the clock came the decisive moment on the match, Love raced into the Annan box in an effort to get on to the end of a cross, but the referee Bobby Madden adjudged that Steven Swinglehurst had pushed the Clyde player in the back and awarded the penalty kick. Love then added salt to the wound when he drilled the spot kick down the middle much to the delight of the large home following.

Annan immediately brought on Tommy Muir for Chris Johnston and the popular Annan striker was presented with a glorious opportunity in the 89th minute when he had a clear opportunity to head Hooper’s cross into the net with Currie delighted that the header from 5 yards went over the bar.

It was Annan’s last opportunity and as the game entered the sixth minute of stoppage time, Madden blew his whistle for full-time, which prompted joyous scenes from the Clyde players, staff and supporters celebrating a fantastic season culminating in promotion.

Annan will no doubt feel disappointed at falling at the last hurdle but they have had a super season and the team that Peter Murphy built can take a lot of credit for the way that they have excited the fans with some exceptional performances.

Annan –Alex Mitchell, Lewis Strapp (James Creaney 65 minutes), David Wilson, Ayrton Sonkur, Steven Swinglehurst, Tony Wallace ( Kyle Bradly 80 minutes ), Owen Moxon, Aidan Smith, Christain Nade (Tommy Muir 87 min ) ,  Chris Johnston.  Subs not used  Aidan McAdams, Peter Watson, Ryan Sinnamon, Ross Ferguson.

Clyde – Blair Currie ,Barry Cuddihy , Martin McNiff, Tom Lang,  Scott Rumsby, , Raymond Grant, Mark Lamont (Kevin Nicoll 87 minnutes ), Christopher McStay, David Goodwillie(Ally Love 67 minutes ) ,  Kristoffer Syvertsen , Scott Banks ( Kieran Duffie 90 minutes ). Subs not used  Kieran Hughes GK,  Ross Lyon , Jack Boyle, Jordan Stewart.

Referee – Bobby Madden . ​​Assistants – David McGeachie and Andrew McWilliam.

Fourth Official – David Dickenson

Crowd 2725

Back to Fixtures & Results
This site uses cookies.
ConfigureHide Options
Read our privacy policy

This site uses cookies for marketing, personalisation, and analysis purposes. You can opt out of this at any time or view our full privacy policy for more information.